2014 European Music Awards


Sam Bernardy, Author

On Nov. 9, MTV hosted its annual EMA awards, hosted in Glasgow, Scotland. EMA stands for European Music Awards, and is presented by MTV Europe. The first EMAs were held in 1994, and fans vote for prizes in different genres of music.

During the show there were performances by Enrique Iglesias, Charli XCX, Slash, U2, Ed Sheeran, Ariana Grande, Alicia Keys and Nicki Minaj. Slash did a special tribute song for Ozzy Osbourne for his Global Icon Award.

This year’s winners are:

Best Music Video: Katy Perry’s “Dark Horse”

Best Female Artist: Ariana Grande

Best Male Artist: Justin Bieber

Best Pop Group: One Direction

Biggest Fans Award: One Direction

Best Look: Katy Perry

Global Icon Award: Ozzy Osbourne

Best Song: Ariana Grande’s “Problem”

Best Rock: Linkin Park

Best Hip-Hop: Nicki Minaj

Best Worldwide Act: Zhou Bichang

Best Alternative: Thirty Seconds to Mars

Best New Act: 5 Seconds of Summer

Best Korean Act: B.A.P.

Best Live Act: One Direction

Best African Act: Sauti Saul
Best World Stage Performance: Enrique Iglesias

Best Electronic: Afrojack

Best Push Artist: 5 Seconds of Summer

Best Spanish Act: Enrique Iglesias

For more informationt: http://tv.mtvema.com/news/2014-ema-wrapup/sp5hzy

Source: http://www.mtv.com/news/1992007/2014-mtv-ema-winners-full-list/