2019 Grammy Nominations


Rapper Kendrick Lamar leads the nominees with eight nominations. Lamar curated the soundtrack to the “Black Panther” film this year. Image Source: Kevin Winter (Getty Images)

Joshua Chen

On Dec. 7, the Recording Academy released its list of nominations for the 61st Grammy Awards, which will be broadcast in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 10. Hip-hop artists Kendrick Lamar and Drake led the nominees with eight and seven nominations, respectively. However, several women commanded the major general field categories, including Cardi B, Brandi Carlile, H.E.R and Kacey Musgraves, following last year’s backlash over the lack of diversity and gender representation. Notably missing from the nominations were stars like Taylor Swift, usually favored at the Grammys, and Ariana Grande, who both were nominated in the Best Pop Vocal Album category.

The full list of nominations in all 84 categories can be found on: https://www.grammy.com/grammys/news/2019-grammy-awards-complete-nominations-list

Record of the Year

“I Like It” – Cardi B, Bad Bunny and J Balvin

“The Joke” – Brandi Carlile

“This Is America” – Childish Gambino

“God’s Plan” – Drake

“Shallow” – Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper

“All the Stars” – Kendrick Lamar and SZA

“Rockstar” – Post Malone featuring 21 Savage

“The Middle” – Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey

Album of the Year

“Invasion of Privacy” – Cardi B

“By the Way, I Forgive You” – Brandi Carlile

“Scorpion” – Drake

“H.E.R.” – H.E.R.

“Beerbongs & Bentleys” – Post Malone

“Dirty Computer” – Janelle Monáe

“Golden Hour” – Kacey Musgraves

“Black Panther: The Album, Music From And Inspired By” (Various Artists) – Kendrick Lamar

Song of the Year (recognizes songwriters)

“All the Stars” – Kendrick Duckworth, Solána Rowe, Al Shuckburgh, Mark Spears and Anthony Tiffith, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar and SZA)

“Boo’d Up” – Larrance Dopson, Joelle James, Ella Mai and Dijon McFarlane, songwriters (Ella Mai)

“God’s Plan” – Aubrey Graham, Daveon Jackson, Brock Korsan, Ron LaTour, Matthew Samuels and Noah Shebib, songwriters (Drake)

“In My Blood” – Teddy Geiger, Scott Harris, Shawn Mendes and Geoffrey Warburton, songwriters (Shawn Mendes)

“The Joke” – Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth, songwriters (Brandi Carlile)

“The Middle” – Sarah Aarons, Jordan K. Johnson, Stefan Johnson, Marcus Lomax, Kyle Trewartha, Michael Trewartha and Anton Zaslavski, songwriters (Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey)

“Shallow” – Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando and Andrew Wyatt, songwriters (Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper)

“This Is America” – Donald Glover and Ludwig Goransson, songwriters (Childish Gambino)

Best New Artist

Chloe x Halle

Luke Combs

Greta Van Fleet


Dua Lipa

Margo Price

Bebe Rexha

Jorja Smith

Best Pop Solo Performance

“Colors” – Beck

“Havana (Live)” – Camila Cabello

“God Is a Woman” – Ariana Grande

“Joanne (Where Do You Think You’re Goin’?)” – Lady Gaga

“Better Now” – Post Malone

Best Pop Vocal Album

“Camila” – Camila Cabello

“Meaning of Life” – Kelly Clarkson

“Sweetener” – Ariana Grande

“Shawn Mendes” – Shawn Mendes

“Beautiful Trauma” – Pink

“Reputation” – Taylor Swift

Best Rock Song (recognizes songwriters)

“Black Smoke Rising” – Jacob Thomas Kiszka, Joshua Michael Kiszka, Samuel Francis Kiszka and Daniel Robert Wagner, songwriters (Greta Van Fleet)

“Jumpsuit” – Tyler Joseph, songwriter (Twenty One Pilots)

“Mantra” – Jordan Fish, Matthew Kean, Lee Malia, Matthew Nicholls and Oliver Sykes, songwriters (Bring Me the Horizon)

“Masseduction” – Jack Antonoff and Annie Clark, songwriters (St. Vincent)

“Rats” – Tom Dalgety and A Ghoul Writer, songwriters (Ghost)

Best Rock Album

“Rainier Fog” – Alice in Chains

“Mania” – Fall Out Boy

“Prequelle” – Ghost

“From the Fires” – Greta Van Fleet

“Pacific Daydream” – Weezer

Best Alternative Music Album

“Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino” – Arctic Monkeys

“Colors” – Beck

“Utopia” – Björk

“American Utopia” – David Byrne

“Masseduction” – St. Vincent

Best Rap Performance

“Be Careful” – Cardi B

“Nice for What” – Drake

“King’s Dead” – Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future and James Blake

“Bubblin” – Anderson .Paak

“Sicko Mode” – Travis Scott, Drake, Big Hawk and Swae Lee

Best Rap Song (recognizes songwriters)

“God’s Plan” – Aubrey Graham, Daveon Jackson, Brock Korsan, Ron LaTour, Matthew Samuels and Noah Shebib, songwriters (Drake)

“King’s Dead” – Kendrick Duckworth, Samuel Gloade, James Litherland, Johnny McKinzie, Mark Spears, Travis Walton, Nayvadius Wilburn and Michael Williams II, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future and James Blake)

“Lucky You” – R. Fraser, G. Lucas, M. Mathers, M. Samuels and J. Sweet, songwriters (Eminem Featuring Joyner Lucas)

“Sicko Mode” – Khalif Brown, Rogét Chahayed, BryTavious Chambers, Mike Dean, Mirsad Dervic, Kevin Gomringer, Tim Gomringer, Aubrey Graham, John Edward Hawkins, Chauncey Hollis, Jacques Webster, Ozan Yildirim and Cydel Young, songwriters (Travis Scott, Drake, Big Hawk and Swae Lee)

“Win” – K. Duckworth, A. Hernandez, J. McKinzie, M. Samuels and C. Thompson, songwriters (Jay Rock)

Best Rap Album

“Invasion of Privacy” – Cardi B

“Swimming” – Mac Miller

“Victory Lap” – Nipsey Hussle

“Daytona” – Pusha T

“Astroworld” – Travis Scott

Best Country Solo Performance

“Wouldn’t It Be Great?” – Loretta Lynn

“Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters” – Maren Morris

“Butterflies” – Kacey Musgraves

“Millionaire” – Chris Stapleton

“Parallel Line” – Keith Urban

Best Music Video

“Apesh*t” – The Carters

“This Is America” – Childish Gambino

“I’m Not Racist” – Joyner Lucas

“Pynk” – Janelle Monáe

“Mumbo Jumbo” – Tierra Whack