BTS Map of the Soul: 7 Album Release Feature


BTS poses for their third concept photoshoot of the album. Map of the Soul: 7 consists of four different photo concepts.

Charmagne Abangan, Online Editor-in-Chief

   Korean pop sensation BTS released their much anticipated album on Friday, Feb. 21. Their 4th studio album, Map of the Soul: 7, consists of 20 tracks with some collaborations, including “ON” with Sia and “Louder than Bombs,” co-written with Troye Sivan. 

    The album includes a solo from each one of the members and two songs from the rap and vocal line. It also consists of a song, “Friends,” sung by the subunit of V and Jimin. The track showcases their friendship while “Respect” is a rap from the subunit of RM and Suga. Jimin’s solo song, “Filter,” shows the different sides of his personality and “My Time,” sung by Jungkook is about his emotions from his trainee days until now. Jin expresses his love for ARMY, the group’s fandom, through his solo “Moon,” and “Inner Child” sung by V looks back at his past self from when he was going through a rough time.

   According to their website, the Map of the Soul series contains the honest and heartfelt story of BTS and their journey discovering their true selves. This album acts in celebration of the group’s seventh year together since their debut on June 13, 2013 and is a great representation of their accomplishments so far. The past seven years haven’t been smooth sailing for BTS and they’ve endured many obstacles as they rose to stardom.

   Map of the Soul: 7 depicts BTS’ acceptance of “the self I want to show” and the “self I want to scorn” to finally share their own story of finding their “real and complete selves.” The group is scheduled to tour Map of the Soul: 7  with the first show in Seoul, South Korea on April 11. They will stop over North America from April 25 to June 6, with the last show of that leg held in Chicago’s Soldier Field Stadium.