“Thought You Should Know” about Morgan Wallen’s New Album

Brooke Follrad, Web Content Editor in Chief

   Morgan Wallen released his third studio album on March 3, 2023. “One Thing at a Time” features a whopping total of 36 songs. Listeners will take an hour and 51 minutes to get through the entire album. This tracklist includes multiple hit singles, such as “Thought You Should Know” and “You Proof”. 

   At first glance, I was shocked by the amount of content Wallen was putting into just one album. Many artists would stretch these songs out over multiple releases, but he had no issue pumping out music for his audience. 

   Country music has seen a lot of new artists in recent years, including Wallen’s rise to fame. I was a fan of multiple of his No. 1 songs, so when I heard his album announcement I put it in my calendar. Now that I have listened to the album in its entirety more than once, my thoughts have settled.

   From my wide selection, I favorited a total of seven songs released in this album: “Neon Star (Country Boy Lullaby)”, “Me to Me”, “Days that End In Why”, “Tennessee Fan”, “Thinkin’ Bout Me”, “Sunrise”, and “Hope That’s True”. Many of them make me want to sing along, or resonate in my personal life. Wallen has a theme throughout his music to ask the harder questions in life and the beauty in them.

   Although country music is not everyone’s cup of tea, Wallen has plenty of songs to cater to a lot of different tastes. He has traditional twang, upbeat, romance, moody and pop-country songs. If I had to rate this album on a scale of 1 to 10, I would give it an 8.5. After so many songs, they can begin to sound the same. Despite this, I was impressed with his ability to keep me hooked to finish listening to the album. The quantity and quality of “One Thing at a Time” did not disappoint.