War on the Wabash

Nadine Velasquez and lakecentralnews

The LC Wrestling team took  second place in its first tournament of the season.  The tournament called “The War of the Wabash”, took place on Friday, Nov. 25, and Saturday, Nov. 26, in Lafayette, Ind.

 They lost by two points to the host of the tournament, Harrison High School. 

There were multiple undefeated wrestlers; they included Kyle Ayersman (12), Gelen Robinson (10), Jordon Goodwin (10), Michael Escobedo (12) and Matthew Lechowicz (11). 

Ayersman won all nine of his matches by pins and received the only MVP award out of all the wrestlers. 

“Even though I wish we would’ve gotten first, I still thought as a team we did okay for it being the first tournament of the season,” Robinson (10) said, who won eight of his matches by pins and one by points. 

The next tournament takes place on Saturday, Dec. 3 at 8:30 a.m.  It is the Harvest Classic and takes place in the LC gymnasium.