Ten-Year Losing Streak Ended

Nadine Velasquez and lakecentralnews

The 31st annual Robert Emerick Harvest Classic wrestling tournament took place on Dec. 3.  The wrestling team won the tournament for the first time since 2001.

Kyle Ayersman (12) won all matches by pins and placed first in the 126-pound weight class.  Ayersman is the eighth wrestler in history that received first in all four years that he participated.  Ayersman also received the most outstanding wrestler award at the tournament.

“The team came together. We wrestled real well, and I’m proud of how we did and how we won the championship,” Ayersman (12) said.

Gelen Robinson (10), who got second in the tournament last year, claimed first this year with a pin in the 220-pound weight class.  Robinson’s record last year was 32-8 throughout the season.  So far, he has been undefeated in his matches.

“My match was tough, but I managed to pin the other wrestler and get the win.  I thought as a team we did a good job, but we still have some things to work on.  I’m glad we got the title this year,” Robinson (10) said.

Twelve wrestlers also placed in the top five in the tournament last weekend.  The LC Wrestling team won their fifth Harvest Classic title in history.